ENTRY GUIDELINES - November 2021

Starting on the 1st of November, Thailand’s borders will open to welcome tourists without the need to quarantine.
Known as ‘Test & Go’, travelers from 62 countries will be granted quarantine-free entry into the Kingdom while those not on the list will have to adhere to current measures such as the Sandbox Program and or Alternative Quarantine. Upon arrival, they will be picked up at the airport by their SHA+ or AQ accommodation. There, they will undergo COVID-19 testing and will have to spend 1 night until test results come back as negative.
Following the release of new entry guidelines into the Kingdom by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a new registration system called ‘Thailand Pass’ will replace the existing ‘Certificate of Entry’ (CoE) platform. It is suggested that travelers register via the new platform at least 7 days prior to their date of departure. On the other hand, those that have been granted a CoE and are planning to arrive in the country after November 1 will still be able to enter.
Before you go ahead and make plans to enter the beautiful tropical country of Thailand, here is a an easy-to-digest cheat sheet.

In order to travel to Thailand, all visitors will need to obtain insurance with coverage of 50,000 USD or COVID-19 related health issues. The coverage may reach 100,000 USD depending on the visa and passport. Click here to purchase approved insurance.
*Expats living and working in Thailand under a valid visa or residential permit are required to provide proof of insurance coverage in Thailand or valid social security card or certified letter from their employer.
**Thai nationals are not required to provide proof of insurance coverage as they are covered by Thailand's universal healthcare programme.

Visa Type
The list of countries that are eligible for the Tourist Visa Exemption Scheme and are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes is below.
Travelers may also obtain a Visa on Arrival (VOA). If your country is not in the list below, you will have to contact your local Thai Consulate to apply for a visa.

Thailand Pass
As mentioned above, the current Certificate of Entry (CoE) platform is being replaced by a new registration system called Thailand Pass will open for applicants on November 1 2021 at 9:00AM (GMT+7).
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs suggests that applicants be made on the new platform at least 7 days prior to a traveller’s date of departure. If you have previously been granted a CoE and plan to arrive into Thailand after November 1, then you do not need to register on Thailand Pass.
Registration on Thailand Pass will open on November 1 2021 at 9:00AM (GMT+7).
To quarantine or not quarantine?
In an effort to increase tourism, the country is opening up to welcome tourists from 62 countries - free from quarantine. This is known as the ‘Test & Go’ scheme.
If you have resided in one of for at least 21 consecutive days, you will fall under the test & go category upon entry and will not have to undergo quarantine. You are still required to obtain a valid visa to enter Thailand.
Those not on the list will have to adhere to current measures when they enter such as the
Travelers from the ‘Test & Go’ category are still required to reserve an SHA+ or AQ accommodation for 1 night. Upon arrival into the Kingdom, they will be picked up at the airport by their accommodation. There, they will undergo COVID-19 testing and will have to spend 1 night until test results come back as negative.
Before finalizing your accommodation, you must secure a flight into Thailand.
See what SHA+ and AQ accommodations are available.
All travelers are required to have a negative COVID-19 test using the RT-PCR method issued by a laboratory no longer than 72 hours before departure.
Eligible countries for Test & Go Scheme (As of 1st November 2021)
Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bhutan, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, Taiwan, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Croatia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Romania, Slovakia, Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Luxembourg.

Q: What are AQ and SHA+ hotels?
Q: What’s included in the package?

Q: Can I book through the Locanation platform?

Q: How long does it take to confirm my booking request?

Q: I am traveling as a family or a group, can I just submit one application for the whole family/group?

Q: My children are unvaccinated; can they enter Thailand through the same scheme as their parents?

Q: How long does the approval process take with Thailand Pass?

Q: Can I travel in Thailand freely if I have entered through the Exemption from Quarantine scheme / Sandbox Programme / Alternative Quarantine?

Q: My country is not one of the countries / territories eligible for the Exemption from Quarantine scheme, will my country be included in the future?

Q: Do I need to submit my COVID-19 test result (RT-PCR) into Thailand Pass?

Q: What if I do not have a mobile phone, how could I present my QR Code?

Q: Can I use other COVID-19 test results other than RT-PCR?

Q: What are the vaccines approved by Thailand?

Q: I have previously been infected with COVID-19; can I travel to Thailand?

Eligible Countries for Visa Exemption (As of 1st November 2021)
  • Andorra
  • Argentina (90 days)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil (30 days and 90 days)
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia (14 days only)
  • Canada
  • Chile (90 days)
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea (30 days and 90 days)
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Myanmar (14 days only)
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru (30 days and 90 days)
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam